CARITAS A CAPPELLA ENSEMBLE emerged from a group started in 2015 by Marc Williams Hull.  In 2016 Cathy Youngblood became Artistic Director and a Board of Directors was formed. The group has inspired and delighted its Charlotte-area audiences with its challenging musical selections, its polished performances, and its vision to make an impact in the community.  In 201 7 Caritas A Cappella Ensemble was incorporated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization . 


The mission of Caritas, 'a cappella artistry with a purpose', is lived out through our efforts to stimulate, develop, and promote the appreciation of acappella singing through public concerts, and through our donation of a portion of the proceeds from ticket sales to charitable organizations.


Cathy Youngblood, Artistic Director and Conductor, is a graduate of California Lutheran University where she obtained both a B.A. in Organ Performance (summa cum laude) and a M.A. in Music Education, the recipient of various awards and honors. Her love for choral music began in an early music a cappella ensemble called Ars Nova, in Guatemala, where she lived for 17 years. She served as Assistant Director of the touring CLU Concert Choir, Director of the Madrigal Singers, and Teaching Assistant in Advanced Music Theory. Cathy is founding director of the Choral Society of Guatemala, performing Mendelssohn’s “Elijah” with the Guatemalan Symphony Orchestra, under her baton. While in Guatemala, she was also the first director of a cappella ensemble Capella Cantorum. She has taught Advanced Music Theory and piano at Central Piedmont Community College, and composes choral music.  Cathy has developed various church music programs and she and her husband make their home in Charlotte.


Eric Johnson - President
Joy Eakley - Secretary
Sam Bomar - Treasurer
Linda Dumizo - Front of House
Scott Verner - Publicity
Elizabeth HindalMarketing
Rick Bean - Development                                                                                                                                                                      Sara Terrell - Grants


  • Sarah Allred
  • Brittany Currie
  • Mary Eppley
  • Hannah Jessup
  • Cecilia Moneta
  • Marty Page
  • Joy Eakley
  • Brooke Haney
  • Amy Henion
  • Megan Jones
  • Irene Pointon
  • Nadia Shutkufski
  • Sara Terrell
  • Francis Crochet
  • David Duggan
  • Traven Harrington
  • Robert Jones
  • Jess Lawrence
  • Aaron McKone
  • Kevin Proffit
  • Jordan Taylor
  • Scott Benner
  • Sam Bomar
  • Michael Horai
  • Keane Matthews
  • Jarvis Miller
  • Scott Verner

Caritas A Cappella Ensemble
P.O. Box 470908
Charlotte, NC  28247